Skip to content

Twilight – by Stephanie Meyer

September 24, 2010

TwilightOkay. I’ve been avoiding this review for a few weeks, but if I don’t write it soon, I never will. So, let me start by saying upfront that I’ve never really been into vampire stories. I don’t really get the appeal, to be honest. I love fantasy, and when there’s romance involved, I love it even more. However, I generally prefer there to be a certain level of substance as well. It’s been several years since I’ve had the stomach for unadulterated romantic fluff. I’m not saying that’s what Twilight is, but this is what I bring to the table. I also waited long enough to read this book that I already had certain preconceived judgments about it and while I tried to put those aside while reading, I can’t say I was 100% successful.

So, pretty much everyone knows the basic gist of this story. A girl moves to a new town and meets a mysterious boy who turns out to be a vampire and with whom she falls deeply and inexplicably in love. And then some evil vampires try to kill her and he has to save her. Now, like I said, I don’t really get the appeal of vampires, so maybe I’m missing something here, but she falls in love with this guy for no apparent reason (except that otherwise we wouldn’t have a story), despite the following: he’s kind of a jerk, he’s a creepy stalker, and his entire attraction to her is based on the fact that he wants to eat her. This bothers me.

Putting aside the poorly written dialogue, the flat characterization, the horrible pacing, and the lack of any real tension (aside from “Edward wants to eat Bella. Bella loves him anyway.”) until about 3/4 of the way through the book, what really made it painful for me to get through was how extremely disturbing it is. I mean, the two of them have these completely casual conversations about how if they spend time alone together, Bella might not come back alive. Because Edward will have killed her. This does not seem like a healthy relationship to me. Also, every time Bella describes Edward and how beautiful and perfect and magnificent and flawless he is, I feel ill. And I’m a person who normally has a pretty high tolerance for cheesy romance.

Now, I don’t mean to sound like I’m judging anyone for reading, or even liking, this book. As I alluded to before, I certainly had a phase wherein I read scads of fluffy, romantic stories, some with even less substance than this. I reached my limit, and I’ve moved on, but that doesn’t mean there isn’t a place for it. Read this if it’s what you like, but if you’re looking for some good Fantasy Romance, check back in next week when I’ll post a list of some of my favorites.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

