Skip to content

The Legend of the King – by Gerald Morris

January 24, 2011

The Legend of the KingI can’t remember the last time I’ve been so hesitant to finish a book. I took me longer than it should have to get through this because I didn’t want it to be over. I wanted to savor this, the tenth and last book in Gerald Morris’ Squire’s Tales series, for as long as possible. I have loved these books dearly since I started reading them ten years ago and to see the series come to an end is bittersweet.

With every book in the series, Morris has reinterpreted a classic story of Arthurian legend, building his own version of Camelot populated with characters both new and familiar but all lovingly, brilliantly real. The Legend of the King is told through alternate viewpoints, bringing together characters from all of the other nine books. Everybody’s back for one last hurrah, although if you know anything about Arthurian legend, you know it can never really end in happily ever after, which, if I’m honest, is partly why I took my time finishing it. I didn’t want to say goodbye. Mordred’s attack on Camelot comes into full swing in this book, as he and Morgause stir dissent among the court and try to divide the Round Table. Like every volume of the series, it is exciting and action-packed, but also thoughtful, funny, and heartfelt. And it ends in the best way possible: with hope.

I firmly believe that there is something in this series for everyone. Fantasy, adventure, romance, and humor along with believable, three-dimensional characters and exceptional writing. If you’re already a fan of the series, you’ve probably already read this or don’t need me to tell you to. If you haven’t read any of Morris’ books, you won’t want to start with this one, but absolutely go out and find a copy of The Squire’s Tale. You won’t regret it. Lastly, I want to offer my deepest gratitude to Mr. Morris for the gift of these books. Thank you.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Gerald Morris permalink
    January 24, 2011 6:55 pm

    Think how hard it was for me to write it. My originally planned trilogy finally reached ten books because I couldn’t bring myself to end. But you got exactly what I hoped readers would get from the final book. Thank you.

    GM

    • aftran permalink
      January 25, 2011 2:44 pm

      Well, I’m glad it lasted as long as it did because think of all the great books that wouldn’t have existed if it had been a trilogy. The Savage Damsel and the Dwarf is my favorite (a. what a great title, b. Lynet!, c. Gaheris!) and Parsifal’s Page was the first one I ever read. (I’m trying to be cool here, but I’m secretly freaking out that you actually responded to my review.)

      One of the things I’ve always loved about The Once and Future King is that it ends with The Beginning (echoed in your last chapter title). It’s a lovely little piece of hope. Not all stories should have happy endings, but I think they should all end in hope.

Trackbacks

  1. My Favorite Books of 2011 « Aftran's YA Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

