Skip to content

Wren Journeymage – by Sherwood Smith

March 7, 2011

Wren JourneymageI was about eleven years old when I read Sherwood Smith’s Wren books for the first time, and I fell in love with them. Adventure, magic, a spunky, imaginative heroine, and above all, the strong bond of friendship between the four main characters drew me in. Wren is impossible not to love, and the strong-willed Princess Teressa and smart, sensible mage, Tyron, are equally wonderful. And Connor. How I loved Connor. Sweet, slightly awkward, with the ability to talk to animals – he is the epitome of what my favorite characters generally look like.

There may have been a few threads left hanging at the end of the third book, but I was never dissatisfied with the ending and I never expected more. So imagine my surprise and delight to find that after all these years, a fourth book was being released (if only in electronic format). And it is no less marvelous than its predecessors. A year after the events of Wren’s War, Wren leaves to start her journeymage project and to find Connor and help him with his quest to find the Summer Islands. While battles with pirates test Wren’s abilities as a mage, Teressa has to deal with the potentially nefarious Hawk Rhiscarlan, who has come to Cantirmoor to court her. There’s just as much adventure and magic as the previous books and a little more romance.

I knew I had liked these books, but I had forgotten quite how much. Stepping back into this world and getting to spend more time with Wren, Connor, Tess, and Tyron was even more satisfying than I’d expected. It was a little bit like coming home. Fans of the series will love this, and I urge any fantasy fans out there who haven’t discovered these books yet to check them out. They are well worth your time.

Leave a Reply

