Skip to content

Insurgent – by Veronica Roth

June 12, 2012

InsurgentI have noticed that people tend to like the middle installments of trilogies best, which I’ve never totally understood. I’m not sure if I’m making this up or not. I might just be thinking of Star Wars and how everyone loves The Empire Strikes Back, but I’ve always preferred The Return of the Jedi (I like happy endings, alright? Yes, I’m a cheeseball. Deal with it.). Do people like The Two Towers more than the other Lord of the Rings books? I don’t really know. They definitely seem to prefer Catching Fire over Mockingjay and The Hunger Games, but I can’t really argue with that one. Catching Fire is pretty genius. I’m not sure what my point is, except to say that I wasn’t sure what to expect from Insurgent, but it absolutely lives up to Divergent and takes everything up to a new level, which is exactly what second installments should do.

Insurgent picks up right where Divergent left off, with the city at war and the factions divided against each other, while Tris and Tobias head for safety. They need to find a way to stop Erudite from taking over the city and slaughtering any more people. With half of Dauntless on the side of Erudite, they have to start by searching for allies, sometimes in unlikely places. Tris also wants to find out the truth about why Erudite attacked Abnegation. She faces new and increasingly more difficult choices while also dealing with her own grief and guilt.

The second volume is just as action-packed and suspenseful as the first, and full of new insights into the factions, the Divergent, and the society as a whole, which should make the wait for book three a long and difficult one.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

